How to Assign Admin Roles in Google Admin Console

User Management

Home  >  Google Workspace Handbook  >  User Management  > How to Assign Admin Roles in Google Admin Console

In Google Admin console you can find a set of pre-made roles that can be assigned to users in your organization. Each role has various permissions and privileges.  

In this article, you’ll learn about what administrator roles are, the difference between the roles on Google Admin console, how to set them up and assign to different users, how you can create a custom role

What are roles in Google Admin console for?

To grant another user administrator privileges, the most straightforward method is to assign predefined administrator roles. Each role comes with specific privileges that collectively enable you to carry out various common business functions.

For instance, one role handles user account management, another oversees group management, while still another handles calendar and resource management. You can assign multiple roles to grant all the privileges associated with them.

What is the difference between each role in Google Admin console

Super admin

Super admin is the role that can control every aspect of your Google Workspace. The users that are assigned to this role have full access to all user data, including calendars, event details, etc. Among the key abilities of super admin are: 

  1. Creating and assigning administrator roles
  2. Creating, updating, deleting organizational units
  3. Managing other super admins, including changing passwords
  4. Accepting the Terms of Service for a product
  5. Restoring deleted users 
  6. Turning on 2-Step-Verification
  7. Installing Google Workspace Marketplace apps
  8. Full management of Services 
  9. Managing Google Calendar 
  10. Using the data migration service
  11. Domain management
It is suggested that your organization have at least 2-3 super admins, in case when someone forgets their password. This there always be someone who can reset passwords.    

Groups Admin

The role of Group Admin has full control over Google Group in your Admin console. Group Admin has the permissions to: 

  • Access user profiles and your organization’s structure
  • Create new groups within the Admin console
  • Manage groups members that were created in the Admin console
  • Adjust access settings for groups
  • Remove groups from the Admin console
  • Read organizational units

User Management Admin

User management admins have a broad number of actions and permissions. This role has the permission to perform tasks from Admin and Admin API. The administrators of this level can:

  • View organizational units
  • Create, update, move, rename, suspend, and delete users
  • Reset passwords and force password change
  • Control user aliases
  • Manage user security

Help Desk Admin

Help Desk Admin has a limited number of permissions that are mainly related to passwords management and include: 
  • Viewing organization units
  • Viewing list of users
  • Updating and reseting passwords

Services Admin

The services admins have the permissions to manage a range of service settings (Google Drive, Docs, Calendar, etc.)and devices in the Admin console. Among the key features of the role are the abilities to:
  • Read organizational units 
  • Control different levels of services 
  • Manage the settings and permissions of various applications (including core Google apps)
  • Manage the directory settings 
  • Create, edit, and delete Calendar resources
  • Manage Chrome and mobile devices listed in the Admin console
  • Use the alert center (full access)

Mobile Admin

Mobile Admin is provided with the range of permissions to control mobile devices and endpoints of the organization:
  • View organizational units
  • See users in the domain
  • Approve devices
  • Manage apps
  • Block or wipe devices and accounts
  • Set device permissions

Storage Admin

The role is mainly focused around Drive management with access to Reports. The list of abilities of the role include:
  • Seeing organizational units and users
  • Controlling storage settings 
  • Managing drive and docs configurations
  • Setting storage limits.
  • Opening the Accounts report and the list of shared drives
  • Seeing details of new Google Sites
  • Changing Docs Templates

How to assign roles in Google Admin console

On Google Admin console you can assign a huge number of users to various roles depending on their responsibilities. Giving full access to everyone in your organization might cause a huge number of problems. Thus, by assigning specific roles to the selected users you will be able to control each user’s permissions. 

Before assigning or creating the roles for your users you need to make sure you have necessary permissions. To assign a prebuilt or custom roles you need to have super admin privileges. To begin the roles assignment, follow the steps: 

  1. Access your Google Admin console (admin.google.com)
  2. In the menu on the left, locate ‘Admin roles’ under the ‘Account’ section
  3. In the opened page hover over the role and click ‘Assign admin’ 
  4. In the opened page click on ‘Assign members’ in the top menu
  5. Enter the name of the user who you want to assign to the role
  6. Hit ‘Assign role’

How to create, edit and delete custom admin roles

In some cases you may find yourself not being able to use the pre-built admin roles due to their limitations. Google Admin console allows you to create 750 custom roles that meet your needs.

To create a custom role in Google Admin console, follow the steps below:
 
  1. Access your Google Admin console (admin.google.com)
  2. In the menu on the left, locate ‘Admin roles’ under ‘Account’
  3. Hit ‘Create new role’
  4. Put in a name and a description if needed
  5. Click ‘Continue’ 
  6. In the next step, check boxes to enable the privileges for the role
  7. Click ‘Continue’ 
  8. Review the selected privileges and hit ‘Create Role’ 

Custom roles editing is performed from the same section of settings. 

  1. Access your Google Admin console (admin.google.com)
  2. In the menu on the left, locate ‘Admin roles’ under ‘Account’
  3. Click on the custom role you want to edit
  4. Click ‘Edit Role Info’ to change the description or the name of the role
  5. Click ‘Privileges’ to edit the permissions the role is supposed to have
  6. Hit ‘Save’

To delete a custom role, you need to keep in mind the following requirements: 

  • You can’t remove yourself if you are assigned to the role (SOLUTION: Ask another super admin to unassign you from the role)
  • Every user must first be unassigned from the role before deleting it.

Follow the steps below to delete a custom role: 

  1. Access your Google Admin console (admin.google.com)
  2. In the menu on the left, locate ‘Admin roles’ under ‘Account’
  3. Select the role you want to delete
  4. Locate ‘Admins assigned’ 
  5. Select all admins who are assigned to the role 
  6. Click ‘Unassign role’ 
  7. Hit ‘Delete role’

Explore Our Latest Blog Posts

Try Your New Email Signature Management Software