Google Admin console provides you with an option to suspend users without deleting them. In this short guide, you’ll learn why you might need to suspend a user on Google Admin console, what is the difference between deleting and suspending users on Google Workspace, and what you need to do to suspend a user.
Suspending users in Google Admin console means that you can temporarily block a user’s access to your organization’s Google services. When you suspend a user:
One of the key advantages of suspending users is that the suspended users can always be restored. When you suspend a user, they won’t receive calendar invitation, files, etc. as long as they’re suspended. However, you should be aware that user license fees are applied to the suspended user. Thus, it means that you’ll still have to pay for the suspended users.
Deleting users on Google Admin console implies complete removal of all user data, including Gmail and data in other application. Thus, Google Admin console allow you to migrate the user’s existing email, set up forwarding for new messages, transfer data from Drive, Docs, Calendar, etc. When you delete a user, you should keep in mind that all data not selected for transferring will be deleted permanently within 20 days.
Suspending a user in Google Workspace is a quick task that only requires you to have Google Admin privileges. To perform that you need to do the following:
Google Admin console also allows you to suspend multiple users in bulk. To do that you need to use a CSV file. Follow the steps to perform the bulk user suspension:
To restore a suspended user, you need to follow the steps:
Explore Our Latest Blog Posts
Try Your New Email Signature Management Software